RSS Feed

Good Food and Great Art

Well, I often think of taking delicious pictures of all the healthy food that I spend so much time preparing…but, I only remember to do it after we are all full and satisfied and the food is gone! Oops!

But, tonight, was some lasagne. Sans the cheese, of course. And, of course, with whole wheat noodles. The sauce is homemade (though the tomatoes that I used were canned). When I make homemade red sauce, I always make double and freeze the left-overs so that I have some “instant” sauce when I need it…such as for making lasagne. 🙂 I had an eggplant and zuchinni that I roasted a bit in the oven first, as well as some fresh spinach.

I made the “cheese” out of tofu, garrlic, herbs, olive oil, salt, pepper, and nutritional yeast that I mixed and ran though my food processor. Here is the beginning of the layering.

I *almost* forgot to take a picture of the finished product. Yikes! So, here is a side image of the layers, because that is always my favorite view when cooking in glassware.

And, for your art-fix for the day, here is R.’s latest masterpiece, with his new paints that he has been asking for for days now and was very excited to finally get this morning….

(Did everyone skillfully notice my red kitchen in the later pictures? Yes, the counter-top in my kitchen is RED, which I don’t think I would choose to do if I were designing a kitchen, but I kinda like it now. It is different, kind of makes me feel like I am in a different period of time, not the 21st century.)

One response »

  1. Vegan Knitting

    That lasagna looks really tasty! Are you vegan, too, or just dairy free, or perhaps you just like tofu!!!

    Anyway, we were going to make lasagna the other night but realized that we didn’t have a good recipe to make tofu ricotta. Any hints to share?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

