RSS Feed

apples and street cars

River and I had a fun day today!

We started out by going to pick apples (and pears and asian pears) at our favorite berry u-pick farm. We didn’t pick too many, mainly because I am still unsure what I am going to do with all of them. 19 lbs of apples (with a few pears thown in) and 4 lbs of asian pears. $14.60 total. Organic! I thought about applesauce, but honestly, I don’t think I have the energy to put into doing that this year. So, I am considering slicing and freezing, for use in pasteries later on. I’m not sure if that would work; I have never frozen apples before.

The farm has fig trees as well, but they weren’t ripe. Oh, please keep the sun shining hard to ripen up those jewels of the earth! Please! (I loooooove fresh figs).

We then drove on up to Portland. I had intended to visit with my sister, but it turned out she had to get to work. I was also hoping to visit my friend who just moved up there, but it turns out I didn’t have her current number in my cell phone. 😦 That was sad.

So, River and I went downtown, walked around a bit, hoped on the streetcars, and just played.

We stopped at a store to get some nice green veggies before heading home. We didn’t get home until 7:30 pm.

Tomorrow I am looking forward to sticking around home more, but we will hopefully make it to the library at some point.

Oh, and I have batteries for my camera, but no cord to connect it to the computer. Argh! We have had that camera for about 5 years, and have never lost the cord. It has to be somewhere, it just hasn’t wanted to be found just yet.

One response »

  1. Fun!

    I myself am due for a new camera. I’ve had this one 8+ years. It’s old and falling apart and I need more mega-pixels! For now I’m just dreaming. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

