RSS Feed

Sugar Snap Peas

I picked up this book from the used book store a few months ago, and I am so glad I did!  I love going through it and planning out what I will make with the end-of-summer-harvest deliveries.

My first experiment from the book was her ‘Pickled Sugar Snap Peas’.  It is a fresh pickle, as opposed to a fermented pickle.  Very easy to make, as well.

1 1/4 c white wine vinegar (I bought a gallon of it for $6)

1 1/4 c water

1 Tbl pickling salt (this just means pure, finely granulated salt…no iodine or anti-caking additives. I used sea salt)

1 Tbl sugar

1 lb sugar snap peas, stemmed and strung

4 garlic cloves

1 or 2 small dried chile peppers, slit lengthwise

2 tarragon sprigs (I didn’t have any, so I omitted this)

In a nonreactive pan , bring to boil vinegar, water, salt and sugar, stirring to dissolve the salt and sugar.  Let the liquid cool.

Pack the peas, garlic, chile peppers and tarragon into a 1-qt jar.  If you pack them in really tight, they won’t float to the top and risk getting moldy months down the line.  But, if you plan on eating them within a few weeks, don’t worry about it.  Pour the cooled liquid over the peas, and cover the jar with a nonreactive cap. (Those plastic mason jar lids are ideal).  Store the jar in the fridge for at least 2 weeks before eating.  If kept refrigerated, they will keep for several months.

I made mine last week, and I haven’t been able to resist grabbing a pea here and there.  They are already so good!  Nice and tart, with a slight hint of garlic and spice.  I’m thinking I will make one more batch before the crop is over, which will be soon I expect.

Leave a Reply

