RSS Feed

The post of many things

The last few days have been busy!  Early Friday morning, I attended an unassisted birth of a sweet baby boy; came home and slept a couple of hours; went and picked;and then went to bed as soon as I could manage.

boysenberries, reaspberries, blueberrries, and black currants

boysenberries, raspberries, blueberries, and black currants

Yesterday, I made those black currants into jam; pickled and canned the beets from our garden:

pickled beets

pickled beets

made this recipe;

everything mixed up

everything mixed up

steaming

steaming

finished!

finished!

made homemade granola; then went for an evening run.  It was a long day on my feet in the kitchen, and I slept so well last night.

River painted some artwork while I was cooking yesterday.  Here is one that he described this way:

"This is me sitting in the rain waiting for you to pick me up"

"This is me sitting in the rain waiting for you to pick me up"

He is such an amazing person.  Last night he said “I’m exhausted!  Mommy, why am I so exhausted?”  Yesterday he said to me ‘Mommy, you like to  make me happy, don’t you?”.  It wasn’t followed by any request or anything; just an observation.

One response »

  1. Do you have any idea how much I love pickled beets??? Must be a Russia thing. I ate so many while I was there my tongue was raw (and bright red) for months. You are amazing with all of your kitchen activities.

    Amy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

