RSS Feed

Cherries

I finally had success with a new zucchini bread recipe! I was out of cinnamon and vanilla, so I just added some almond extract, and it worked out so well.

It is delicious, and 2 loaves use 3 cups of grated zucchini. So, a great use of the many summer squash coming our way at the moment each week via our CSA.

I saw an ad on Craigslist for local, organic cherries, already picked. So, tonight, 2 gallon size bags of cherries were delivered to us.

cherries!

cherries!

I don’t think they are Rainier, even though they look it. But, they are super sweet! I weighed them, and the 2 bags totaled 9 pounds! We paid $12. Not a bad deal for local, organic cherries!

I’m already in the process of making 2 pints of pickled Russian cherries (which doesn’t require pitting). When I finish them up tomorrow, I’ll post some pictures.

One response »

  1. I just saw the yummiest cherry coconut tart on Heidi Swanson’s site the other day. I felt sad I had no cherries to try it out. I had no idea there were some still growing. Good lucky with your cherry pickles!

    Amy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

