RSS Feed

Summer days

Today, I picked a 2 gallon bucketful of fresh green figs….for FREE. I posted a request for figs on craigslist, and I was connected with a woman in town who has a huge fig tree. She said that no one in her house liked them, so each year, she lets people into her back yard to pick as they life, free of charge. There weren’t near as many ripe ones as I would have liked, but I made do. I’m not complaining, when it comes to free figs!! The soft and mushy ripe ones became a batch of jam: 12 1/2 pints. The firmer ones in the process of becoming pickles as I type. I’ll can them tomorrow, after they’ve sat out for the night. I’ve never had a pickled fig, but from everything I have read, I’m in for a huge treat!

I’m starting to feel a sense of anxiety now that it is nearly mid August, since the growing season will be over soon. I’m hoping I can still find plums in the next week. I have a recipe for spicy Chinese plum sauce that I really want to try out. It’s going to be autumn before we know it.

I don’t have pictures of my figs from today; my batteries in my camera are dead. There was just enough power to download the pictures that have been sitting on the memory card, waiting to be uploaded. So, here are those:

cherry cobbler

cherry cobbler

Made from the cherries I previously wrote about. I used a slightly modified version of Heidi Swanson’s wonderful recipe. It was so delicious: not too sweet, not too bread-y, just PERFECT! I’ve since made 2 fresh blueberry cobblers. My modifications included using ‘flax-egg’ replacer for the egg, arrowroot in place of the cornstarch, coconut oil in place of the butter, and soy milk + 1 tsp apple cider vinegar in place of the buttermilk.

knex tow truck

knex tow truck

I thought this deserved a place on my blog, if only in homage to the HOURS it took Walter and I to put together. The directions were downloaded from the Knex website, and seemed simple enough. It took us about 2 hours to finish it, with minor interruptions of course.

chalk art

chalk art

River was so proud of his creation. He thought told me that he made ‘beautiful art!”. Chalk and a hammer can be a good combination.

using a marker to paint his face

using a marker to paint his face

I was busy in the kitchen when this happened. He had climbed up onto the counter, and got busy. You may not be able to tell, but he did a very good job, making sure his entire eye lids were colored. Luckily, the marker is washable (I don’t buy them otherwise). So, his face was cleaned up easily with a quick wipe down with a damp diaper.

One response »

  1. Charlie came in the other morning with his whole face covered in fuschia marker — also washable, but it took a couple days. River was wise to choose something sort of skin toned.

    Thanks for answering my meme. Loved learning more about you. And your cherry cobbler looks divine. I have a thing for cherries.

    Amy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

